RSS Feed

Goldilocks find a house or How to buy a house in 2.5 hours.

Posted on

Okay well not quite.  We have been looking, in earnest, for months.  We already had in mind that we’d wait until the fall because that’s the best time for buyers.  We thought we had a place to go for, but were quickly realizing it was overpriced for the lack of work that had been put in to it – it was well maintained but lacking many of the things most people do for a quick sale.  Things were looking kind of bleak.

Then my Dad came home one night – a duplex down the street had just come on the market and the realtor was a family friend.  I looked at the listing, it didn’t look promising it just didn’t speak to me, but to appease the parental units I said I’d look at it.  So I did; this was last Wednesday.  It wasn’t so bad and boy oh boy did they want to move it fast – new paint, carpet allowance, newer furnace and air conditioning, nice landscaping and they were putting on a new roof Friday.  Friday rolled around and I got the hubs over for a visit.  We liked it – it had space, not too much but not too little, it had a yard – not to big and not too small, it had a little bit of everything.  We said we call them next week sometime.

By Friday night we were coming to our senses, we didn’t want this one to pass by.  It was in a great area, good school districts, we were down the street from family and folks I’ve known for years, we don’t have to change parishes, close to work, in our price range and had everything we wanted.  We scheduled another look on Sunday.

By Sunday we knew we wanted to move fast, there were a couple other showings that weekend and with a brand new roof in the mix we knew it might not last long.  We met for the showing, and an hour later we were sitting around our kitchen table signing contracts.  What a rush.

I hoped we might hear something in the morning at best – our offer was good, but maybe she wanted every nickle she could get.  I don’t know what kind of magic our realtor worked; maybe he just told her (an older woman and a widow) that there was a young family who wanted to be “Home for the Holidays”, but by 8 p.m. we were on the phone … offer accepted.

I can’t wait to show you more – we move in at the end of November.  I can’t believe that we got just about everything on our list – a backyard with proper exposure and room for a garden, a great kitchen, appliances and extra room and we even got a few bonus items like a beautiful wood burning fireplace and some odds and ends she didn’t want to move out – like a great (1970’s Orange) sleeper sofa for the spare room, a grill, some gardening things and (my midwest brothers and sisters will gasp a little) A SNOWBLOWER!!!

I don’t know what else to say right now, I’m still in shock to be honest.

This time last year I was at the lowest of my pregnancy blues – life looked pretty dim and I was extremely worried about how we’d make ends meet let alone when we’d be stable enough to find a place of our own.  My mother told me not to worry, it’d all work out and if we weren’t in our own place by next fall she’d be shocked and I guess Mother’s know best.  We’ve worked hard over this last year and we’ve had amazing support and more amazing help getting where we are.  We’ll be grateful until our last breathes and I hope one day we’ll deserve it.

For now I’m excited to have something that is our own, truly our own.  I’m positively giddy about moving and setting up house and best of all I get to hang my son’s first Christmas Stocking on our mantle this year, a blessing to be sure.

Thank you everyone whether I know you in person or not, you’ve helped us and we’re very grateful!

8 responses »

  1. Hello Molly,
    I am the first to wish you on your great fortune! I feel so thrilled for you! My hubs and I were also looking for a peice of land to build a house but then had to give this up as his exams were coming up. I was really dissapointed I can tell you. But it gives me a lovely feeling to now that you have found a sweet place to call your own. I wish you ALL the VERY BEST!

    Reply
  2. This is wonderful! Congratulations for so many reasons! You have worked so hard for this all to come together. I am looking forward to seeing all of the pictures!

    Reply
  3. It sounds as if everything came together so well! Moving to a new home just in time for the holidays is really wonderful; we moved into our new house in early December two years ago, and it was so nice getting to enjoy a new home for Christmas! Congratulations!

    Reply
  4. Congratulations Molly! I can’t wait to see the creative family Christmas card in your new home 🙂

    Reply
  5. Congrats. I know how excited you must be. Tis the season of miracles and blessings and this must be your families time. I am so happy for you and yours. Can’t wait to see all the pretty decos for christmas you will do and now you have a new shot for your christmas cards. Have fun.,

    Blessings,
    Misty and Pets

    Reply
  6. Congratulations Molly! It sounds great and I can’t wait to see pictures!

    Reply
  7. Congrats! Can’t wait to see the pictures of YOUR home! 🙂

    Reply
  8. Oh HOW exciting! Sounds like it was meant to be.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

