RSS Feed

What’s luck got to do with?

Got to do with it?  What’s luck but a second-hand somethingsomethingsomething… okay so not quite, but it’s late, I’m tired and yeah, that’s all I’ve got.

Over on one of the Ravelry boards I frequent a post recently retorted that luck has everything to do with how well a person can live a simple life.  When there are no big medical bills or family problems to get in the way, if a person has a myriad of options, or what have you, that luck has everything to do with your success in living simply.

I can see the commentors reasoning – things are definitely easier when you have good health, a supportive family, live in an area that is not easily damaged by a fluctuating economy.  However, it’s not all luck.

Luck has nothing to do with the simple choices you make that add up to a lot. 

Luck has nothing to do with keeping a small closet and thrifted clothes.

Luck has nothing to do with being okay with your old tv, computer, car.

Luck has nothing to do with choosing a smaller home.

When you have the room to choose, luck has nothing to do with it.  And it’s those choices that affect how you cope when you’re luck runs out.  Medical bills won’t seem so daunting if you’re not still paying for Christmas from five years ago.  Family illness that takes up your free time will be a little less stressful if the house is small enough to easily see to.

So yes a person might get lucky and be able to pay off a mortgage or retire early because those big expenses never came up – but the biggest stroke of luck came the day they realized that “Living for Today” also means realizing that tomorrow becomes today in a blink of the eye.

One response »

  1. Yes! This is a great post! I hear all of the time about how lucky I am to be able to stay home with my children. Lucky? Was it luck that when I was making 18k a year, I paid off my college loans? Was it luck when my family of four bought a 2 bedroom house that needed tons of work, but was one that we could afford? The luck comment makes me a bit bonkers. I do not deny the blessings in my life. But to say it has all been luck is almost an insult.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

