RSS Feed

Reflections On My First Mother’s Day

Posted on

Ten reflections on my first foray into Motherhood –

  1. Another persons bowel movements have never been so interesting… in fact very few bodily functions have ever been so interesting.
  2. Some how my days are slower and busier at the same time.
  3. Everyday, whether it was good or bad, feels like an accomplishment.
  4. I feel an inherent need to finally improve on those “little” things so my son will have a good example to follow.
  5. I find myself wondering what on earth I was doing before that was as important as this.
  6. The phrase “A woman’s work is never done” is really true – whether stay at home or working mother, this is our battleground, we were made for it – so suck it up buttercup this is your duty.
  7. I will use any excuse to make a funny face or noise.
  8. Every plan I think of is with him in mind first, myself second without realizing it.
  9. I’m so glad I had a boy first – I love dinosaurs, robots, dirt, tractors, etc. – I’d love them just as much if Henry was a girl, but this way people don’t look at me as funny.
  10. Somehow I suddenly know every lyric to every Disney movie I’ve ever seen – Aladdin, Snow White, Mary Poppins, Mulan, anything – some how I know them all again.

Proof of #7 or possibly # 10

Pardon me, “Part of Their World” from “The Little Mermaid” just came on the Pandora Station and I’ve got to give it my all.

6 responses »

  1. That photo is adorable! I love the expression on your son’s face.

    I, too, am glad I had a son first. Now it’s on to hoping for a daughter, though I’ll feel delighted and blessed either way!

    Reply
  2. You are both so beautiful! And I love your attitude. Here’s to you and your continued strides in being a great mother!

    Reply
    • I’m trying not to be one of those “look at my amazing life” kind of bloggers, but for those of you who read my previous blog and know a little of how hard it was to get through the dark days of my pregnancy I do wish to share just how good things are turning out to be after such a rough time and unknown future.

      Reply
      • Oh, Molly, I’m so happy for you. And ditto to almost all of them! (Although I was really happy to have a girl first, and would be perfectly happy if all the rest are boys!)

Leave a Reply

